Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Ask here any questions regarding program functionality
DarrelW
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contact:

Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by DarrelW »

When I open Add Titles and try to bring up the official repository it says could not contact the module repository. All the other repositories come up.
Jeff
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Wind River Range, WY

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by Jeff »

Hi Darrel,

I just tried it and the Official Repository is working for me.

Is it an ongoing problem for you?
Jeff


Using theWord Beta on MX Linux via Wine.
DarrelW
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by DarrelW »

Yes, the official repository is the only one that won't open. All the rest work just fine, so it's nothing on my end.
User avatar
JG
Posts: 4338
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:34 pm

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by JG »

Darrel, I don't follow the logic there.
If it works for Jeff, then it must be a problem your end.
Having said the above, neither of you have mentioned what OS or build of theWord you are using which could be a factor in it not working for one of you.
Jon
the
Word 6 Bible Software
OS for testing; Windows 10
Beta Download ------Beta Setup Guide------On-line Manual------Tech doc's and Utilities------Copyright Factsheet
DarrelW
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by DarrelW »

Well, first off if it was something on my end then the other repositories would not work either, but all of them do. The only thing not playing is the official theWord repository.

I am on build 1522, and on Linux. Everything worked up until a week ago.
User avatar
JG
Posts: 4338
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:34 pm

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by JG »

It works for Jeff on Linux
and it works for me on Windows
Jon
the
Word 6 Bible Software
OS for testing; Windows 10
Beta Download ------Beta Setup Guide------On-line Manual------Tech doc's and Utilities------Copyright Factsheet
Jeff
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Wind River Range, WY

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by Jeff »

JG wrote:Having said the above, neither of you have mentioned what OS or build of theWord you are using which could be a factor in it not working for one of you.
Sorry. I'm also on 1522, and your memory is correct, I'm using MX Linux. :)

I agree it would seem to be on Darryl's end as the official repository works for us.

I also agree with Darryl that it wouldn't seem to be his OS as all the other repositories work.

So all I could think of is some kind of ad-blocker, host file entry, service provider, or something blocking that particular repository's address. Or the address has somehow got corrupted on Darryl's installation. I see the address can't be edited from with the add repositories dialog. I wonder what would happen if he tried to open that address in his browser, and if he didn't get an error, then add the address as a new user repository?

Or maybe it would just be simpler to try an earlier version or download 1522 again.
Jeff


Using theWord Beta on MX Linux via Wine.
DarrelW
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by DarrelW »

It is something on my end, not sure what yet but will track it down. I dual-booted into LMDE4 with wine 6.0 and ran TW, then clicked on update titles and opened the official repository and it came up just fine. I don't think it is build Linux Mint 1522 so I will first try taking wine down from 6.13 and see what happens.
DarrelW
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by DarrelW »

It had to do with wine. I was running wine development version 6.13, dropped it to wine stable 6.01, started TW and brought up add titles and the official repository plays. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Jeff
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Wind River Range, WY

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by Jeff »

DarrelW wrote:It had to do with wine. I was running wine development version 6.13, dropped it to wine stable 6.01, started TW and brought up add titles and the official repository plays. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Strange. I'm glad you got it straightened out, and thanks for the update.

I never would have guessed it was Wine. I'm using Wine 6.5. 16-bit programs have been having problems with newer versions, but theWord didn't seem to be affected. The old BerBible program and a chess game I sometimes enjoy using seemed to be affected, so I'm sticking with 6.5 (which is also the Stable Version in the MX Repository until (if?) they get it fixed).
Jeff


Using theWord Beta on MX Linux via Wine.
DarrelW
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by DarrelW »

I've looked at MX-Linux and most other distros, but decided on Linux Mint 20.2 as my main and LMDE as my secondary distro. With the changes in LM they are updating a lot faster now and very solid. LMDE is extremely good, but only updated once a year and I like more current.

I have always run the latest wine and never had any issues. The only program I had issues with was TW on wine 6.13, and TW is the only program I had issues that could not be resolved.
therapon
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:39 pm

Re: Add Titles not working for theWord repository

Post by therapon »

I concur with Darrel and Jeff. openSUSE, WINE 6.13, TW 1522. Inability to connect to the official repo is the only issue I've had with TW on this version of WINE. Since all the other repos work, it seems like the issue is with how TW is trying to connect to the official one. Since it has worked in prior versions of WINE and it presently works in Windows, maybe 6.13 isn't as forgiving?
Post Reply